True Funk Soldiers

Q&A With Paisley Park Engineer, David Friedlander

maxim9691

Post by maxim9691 on Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:44 am

This article is a must read for any inner sanctum Prince fan

Excerpts
    Id prefer not to give my real name for obvious reasons but I was an engineer at Paisley
    Park from 1988-1996. I left in 1996 due to a huge misunderstanding. I had been a loyal
    servant to the funk for 8 years.

one of the first projects I did at Paisley was recording everything in the vault to tapes
    for the lawyers to copyright. alot of material i guess wasnt copywritten. We had a team of
    2 engineers and if i remember a security guard, so we policed ourselves against
    bootleggings. every 2" was quickly mixed and dumped and every 1/2" was dumped. Of
    course it took a long time. The reason I bring this up is I know firsthand how many of the
    earliest works were profusely shedding. Alot!! When the studio started using scotch tape
    specifically 250 the profuse shedding stopped. If they didnt bake the tapes and transfer it
    im sure theres a lot of magnetic dust now. I was never involved with any archiving but I
    pray that someone has or thats a whole lot of history gettin lost.

Legal to share
    Code:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?w9u272vd3iiyayp
    password=www.entropymc.com

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
    maxim9691

Re: Q&A With Paisley Park Engineer, David Friedlander

Post by maxim9691 on Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:47 am

Opening post, October 28,2009:

NOTE: Post was put up underorg screenname “chronicfreeze”

SUBJ: Prince Engineer Here1988-1996: Q&A helloall,

I ran into this website while looking for an old friend Femi Jiya. I lost touchwith him there for a minute and was trying to find him when this site popped upunder a search for his name. Im glad I checked it out. Its very impressive andall the fans and their knowledge is very impressive as well. You people aresome serious heads.